This favored bit of Texas known today as Victoria County is where the history of Texas began. In 1685 the French explorer, Rene' Robert Cavelier, Sieur de La Salle, arrived and established an outpost near the southeastern tip of present day Victoria County. Nearly 140 years after LaSalle's arrival, the Republic of Mexico approved Don Martin de Leon's request to establish a colony on the lower Guadalupe River in 1824. De Leon named it Villa Nuestra Senora de Guadalupe de Jesus Victoria, commemorating Our Lady of the Guadalupe and the first president of Mexico, a close personal friend of his.

The town was developed around a main street, "la Calle de los Diez Amigos", which referred to influential men and friends of de Leon. The town was known as Guadalupe Victoria until Texas gained her independence from Mexico in 1836. Since then, it has been known as Victoria. The only way to truly understand the uniqueness of Victoria is to come see it for yourself. Whether you are shopping, dining, or exploring the exciting attractions that are offered, we welcome you to experience the charm of Victoria and the Guadalupe River....where Texas history began!

Did you know?

  • Victoria is known as "The Crossroads" because it is located within a two hour drive to Houston, Austin, San Antonio, and Corpus Christi.
  • Victoria is named after the General Guadalupe Victoria, who became the first president of independent Mexico.
  • Victoria County is the only county of Texas that actually had all six flags fly over it.... Spain, France, Mexico, the Republic of Texas, the Confederacy, and the United States of America!

Community Links

Points of Interest

Ready to hit the road?
Let us help you with directions...

Return to the River Heritage Tour website

© 1998 Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority